We are in NYC for a quick visit with our two younger sons. We managed to get in 10 miles of walking as we made our way downtown to the International Center for Photography and back and then uptown for a lovely dinner with them and their sweethearts. 

As some of you know, I have been working with a few of the lensbaby lenses and have been having a love/hate relationship. There is a steep learning curve but I have found that practice is paying off.  I took only the Lensbaby Edge 80 optic with me and had quite a good time with it.  This lens works as a straight 80 mm lens but depending on the aperture, focus and the bend of the optic, it can provide  just a  “slice” of focus at many different angles  which makes for some rather interesting images.  The front end of the optic also pulls out for “macro” shots which is a bonus.  I took lots of photos and will post them into a Flickr album when I get home and have a chance to go through them.

This image of a display of pocket watches demonstrates the slice of focus achieved with a slight bend to the left. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.