Back to the fells

Firstly - thank you for all the kind comments on yesterday's (posted today) EB - you're all very kind and supportive.

Whilst its great to visit it is good to be home - especially when that means a return to the fells of the Lake District. It was a lazy start this morning as we had family staying - but pooch was excited to see us and wanted to roam the wilder places - well that's my story and I'm sticking to it ;)
By mid morning the horrid weather had cleared a little so we took a walk into the 'hidden' local valley of Borrowdale (not to be confused with its more famous namesake nr Keswick). It also gave me a chance to see if there was any improvement to my ankle since the injection into my subtalar joint (non to report but early days). Once we were clear of the muggy trees it was quite fresh, but its a steep sided valley & whilst I could see it was windy we were relatively sheltered. At the rocks under Shooter Howe I saw this little chap hopping always a few yards ahead of us - I think (s)he's a juvenile meadow pipit* - but I'd be happy to be corrected if someone knows better?
*Ah the brilliance of Blip. Thanks to Jerra I can correct that this is a juvenile female wheatear, some good id tips HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.