Plus ça change...

By SooB

Feast!

Finally, today, the day Mr B has been waiting for all year: the start of the tomato harvest.  Obviously we're not quite in 'glut' territory...

My tomatoes seem to be later than many around here, which I think may be because I've chosen old varieties (in the hope of avoiding diseases) which are slower to mature.  Anyway, this first fruit was pronounced delicious.

The holiday lie-ins continue, though I think they may have to end soon as I feel like I have enough on my to-do list to occupy me every day until I'm 103...  Once I was up and about, off to school to teach the Head how to use the software I do the admin and accounts on, and catch up on some cheque banking and writing.  

Home for a feast of a lunch (there was other food...) and then off into town to take advantage of the cool weather to get a bunch of errands done.  This morning there was a huge thunderstorm (about 5am) and at least an inch of rain.  So no garden watering tonight.  All the plants look delighted with today's weather, I have to say.  Of course, cold weather in July here is not really cold - it was still in the high 20s - but with no sun and a bit of a breeze, the day felt wonderfully temperate.

Later, the kids challenged Siri to tell them a joke, we tried to explain how the way Britain will have a new PM is legal, even if it's not very democratic, and with no sport on TV we are back to the inevitable squabbles and ugly compromises over what to watch.

Later still, Sunday lunch for Monday dinner - it having been judged far to hot to have the oven on any other day lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.