Day 2, Battlefields

   I am on day 6 of my road trip.  This morning, I spent time revisiting the battlefields of Gettysburg.  Yesterday I followed the guided tour.  Today, I knew where I was and I went exploring,  I found the hayfields one of the Union generals held the Confederates at bay on Day 3 of the battle.  the South was coming from the west, uphill, towards the high ground, having to fight every inch of the way.  The North struggled to hold the lines from the assault and the rebel yells.  But, the lines held and the South were forced to retreat with loses of over 70,000 men.
    This is a farm house that actually was standiing through the Civil War.  Cannon, horses, soldiers, smoke and grapeshot was surrounding it  How it ever survived is a miracle, to me.  Today, it stands tall as guard to the men who died fighting for what they believed in. 
   The equestrian is General Sedgwick of the South.  He charged up and over the ridge, only to find Devils Den and the killing fields in front of him before Little Round Top.  Snipers were waiting for the South to charge up hill, in the open, to certain death and defeat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.