It's home, Dwarf Gardenia

   A few weeks ago, I found this beauty  at the nursery.  It is a Dwarf Gardenia.   It is a normal gardenia plant (which grows huge with flowers 4-6" in size.)   The Dwarf Gardenia has reduced leaf size, a reduced flower (2-2 1/2") and able to be cultivated into a bonsai.  It is a new hybrid that has been developed by a man here in Florida.  I couldn't remove it from the nursery until David got the patent release.  This plant has a patent now that prohibits any propagation of the species for a long length of time.    
   For some reason, my plant has had another flower pop and it smells wonderful on my back porch.    The extra is a picture of the whole plant and blossom.  It isn't any larger right now than 12, maybe 13" tall.  I will let this plant grow the rest of the summer and fall.  Next spring will be time enough to start styling my beautiful plant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.