carliewired

By carliewired

Waiting

Too many hours spent
waiting for results and for
life to be normal.

~ carliewired

We were back at the hospital today. D was scheduled for day surgery. This is the second attempt to remedy a kidney stone. Not my favourite place to spend a day. D wasn't thrilled either.

If you don't grab a parking space before 7:30 AM in the parkade you don't get one. So, I was there before 7:30. A friend collected me at 7:30 and delivered me home again. At 11 AM my kid#2 picked us up to return us to the hospital.

D checked in right away and we were up on the 4th floor before noon. At 12:30 he was on his way to the operating room as the OR was running ahead of schedule today. When he left the floor I went back to the nursing station to remind them that he was to have pain medication this time. Last time he was sent home with nothing in that category. We were NOT doing that again. This man is stoic. He will not complain, but I will.

I found a spot in a row of empty seats in the hospital's main corridor. I watched the action between the elevators, the parkade and the various screening departments for over 2 hours. At 3 PM I headed back to the 4th floor to see if he'd been returned. The nurse in charge of his care was just about to call me on the phone when I arrived. My first question was “Does he have any pain medication prescribed this time?” I was quickly ushered into his cubicle and assured that there was indeed something there on the list for him. Good thing. I was ready for a fight.

I helped D get dressed. He sat in the wheelchair provided and we were off to the parkade with his prescription in hand. We were soon home with meds and tomatoe soup. Now we wait for a call from his surgeon so he can do this again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.