TINY TUESDAY - SYMPHORICARPOS ALBUS

As we are having our lounge decorated, I wanted to move the car off the drive early this morning and when I put it in the turning space opposite, I saw some tiny flowers on the Symphoricarpos Albus plant - it is commonly known as the Snowberry because eventually the berries that are now green turn snow white.  

Apparently, the berries are poisonous although the white colour is said to discourage ingestion which is just as well because it causes quite nasty side effects of vomiting.  I’m not sure if this applies just to humans as I have never seen birds eating the berries, but maybe they know something we don’t know and stay away.  It is part of the honeysuckle family and because it is poisonous is sometimes known as the Corpseberry.

The lounge is looking good and will be finished later this morning - so I am taking Mr. HCB out for coffee this afternoon and pointing him in the direction of the furniture shop in Old Town to look at oak sideboards.  The one I like is very expensive, so I might have to lower my sights.

However, there is MUCH decluttering to be done in the next few days but Mr. HCB is adamant that not all my rubbish/stuff will be going back into the lounge - we will see what happens and he is away at cricket for the next two weeks, so watch this space!

It is with flowers as with moral qualities; 
     the bright are sometimes poisonous; 
          but, I believe, never the sweet. 
Augustus Hare

P.S.  I had an email this morning from Liz, the lady at the Council, who said that she had found a folder at the back of a cupboard with information relating to my Blip for yesterday about Dewell Mews - apparently, it was named in 1990 from “The Goddard Family” theme - a prominent family in Swindon and North Wiltshire - Charles Dewell married Mary, the daughter of Anthony Goddard.  How very kind of her!  She apologised for not being able to provide the information yesterday, but said she now knows the folder exists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.