WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY - THREE LADS ON THE LOOSE

What a wash-out yesterday!  Well, it was as far as cricket was concerned, in fact, Mr. HCB and his cricket buddy, Keith and his son, Graham, decided not to go to Cheltenham because rain was forecast and for once, the weathermen were right.  It started here at about 11 a.m. and continued well into the night, with a few odd lulls, and although a few balls were bowled at Cheltenham, rain soon stopped play.  The cricket community may not have liked it, but our garden loved it!

However, today is supposed to be fine and warm, although it is still quite chilly out there at the moment, but the good news is that the rain has stopped, so these “Three Lads on the Loose” are hoping for a good day of cricket.  According to my Weather App on my phone, there is heavy cloud in Cheltenham and likely to be the same until about 3 p.m. when it looks as if the sun is due to break through.

I don’t think it will bother Mr. HCB, Keith and Graham though, as I’m sure there will be plenty to talk about.  Graham was over here from his home in the US last year, so won’t have seen much cricket since then, but a game like that doesn’t change much.  I’m sure the sound of “leather on willow” and “lots of flannel” will keep them going all day, plus of course, the thought of fish and chips from the local chippy, just along the road at lunchtime.

There will be more of the same tomorrow, so now I can please myself what I do - I am meeting a friend for coffee this afternoon, so I suppose I could do some housework this morning…..but then again, perhaps I won’t bother!

“Cricket is a most precarious profession; 
     it is called a team game but, in fact, 
          no one is as lonely as a batsman 
               facing a bowler 
supported by ten fieldsmen 
     and observed by two umpires 
          to ensure that his error does not go 
               unpunished.” 

John Arlott  : 1914-1991
Cricket Commentator

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.