NATURE'S ABSTRACT - PAREIDOLIA?

When I was wandering around the garden early yesterday morning, I spotted this pile of logs and said to Mr. HCB that it would make a good shot for Abstract Thursday so I was out in the garden early again today - this shot was taken just after 7 a.m.

Having spotted a large amount of sawdust on the grass, we realised the damage that some sort of weevil had done to the sleepers along the edge of our lawn, and obviously they have been working on this pile of logs too - see extra.

In fact, once again, I am dedicating this shot to my dear Blip friend, LSquare, who loves pareidolia - and I can even spell this now without looking it up!

It is very much cooler outside this morning and I daresay there will be many who wake up with sore heads and broken hearts after the sad defeat of England last night.  I’m no football expert, but even I could see that the Croatian team were running much faster than the English players.  However, despite their defeat, they did well to get that far, and as our younger son in Vietnam posted when he eventually went to bed at 4 a.m. their time: “Just like the rest of you, I'm going to bed with a smile on my face knowing the result has zero impact on my life…….”.  

Just heard on the local news that there are now fires burning on Salisbury Plain, which is Ministry of Defence land, where many army manoeuvres take place, and roads near the source of the fire are now closed because of thick smoke.  We do desperately need rain all over the country and it looks as if we may have a shower or two today - or are they waiting for the Cheltenham Cricket Festival to start next week?  

“Come forth into the light of things,
     let nature be your teacher.”
William Wordsworth
English Romantic Poet : 1770-1850

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.