FLOWER FRIDAY

As I wandered round the garden today, not quite as early as I have been, I intended taking a photograph of one of our roses, the only flowers that don’t seem to be affected by the heat and drought, but I was drawn towards the runner beans.

They are looking good, mainly I guess, because Mr. HCB has been watering them rather than the flower borders. This one is “Painted Lady”, an old variety, that looked beautiful in the sunshine with its red and white flowers, and we are expecting a good crop - if we get the promised rain, then hopefully we will have lots of runner beans.

I did pop into the greenhouse and could hardly see Mr. HCB because the tomatoes are growing so well, and he picked our first cucumber today, so I guess it’s salad again for our evening meal.

We won’t be going too far from home this weekend - and especially not on the roads in the direction of the Air Tattoo at Fairford where, according to The News last night on television, 180,000 people are expected to attend.  Why bother to pay all that money when you can see just as much from the comfort of your own garden?

If you are a vegetarian or vegan, read no further, but I thought this quote was good - our next door neighbour, Lynn, often cooks and makes bacon sarnies - there is nothing like the smell of bacon cooking!

“Life expectancy would grow 
     by leaps and bounds 
          if green vegetables 
               smelled as good as bacon.”
Doug Larson

P.S.  Sorry I didn't respond to all your comments last night, but I was out for the evening, but I am very grateful for them all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.