Nose

After a slow start my brother arrived at P's for a coffee then we went to meet up with I & K at the Shepherd and Flock (pub on a roundabout) for lunch, I having disclosed that in spite of living about 1/4 of a mile away from it for 15 years, he'd never actually been in it.

We then headed on down to Sussex and actually arrived a bit early so stopped in Rottingdean for a mooch around. We wandered round the graveyard until we found Copper corner and, in another corner, Bob's plaque. Then, directed by the informative booklet I'd purchased in the ancient (Saxon) church, we found this strange little face in the wall of Rudyard Kipling's house opposite - one is supposed to stroke his nose with one's right forefinger, make a wish, and turn round three times. It's a bit dicey, given the traffic. Oh, and wishing for money doesn't work, apparently. Luckily he's less well known than Greyfriars Bobby, or his nose would have been worn away entirely.

Then on to the Coppers' home for a house concert - another cracking evening, with many more good friends (and some relatives!) turning up. In fact my great-nephews must have reduced the average age of the audience quite a bit. And it's always good to hear the Coppers singing....

Robb had come out for the evening (he did a brilliant post-EU ref song) and kindly took me back to theirs to stay overnight. Ginger seemed very pleased to see me and I had to barricade the door against him, or I would have sneezed all night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.