Artichoke

Some of you may remember me planting this baby artichoke plant late last summer. Inspired by a friend in Linton who always had one in her garden, and my primary school teacher, the lovely Jose who encouraged me through the medium of social media to try it! I bought two plants on Sheringham market, but only this one survived. But isn't she doing well? I think that for the best results for it to fruit, I should take off the first flower on the top, to encourage side shoots/more fruit. I just couldn't bear to! So I have this one artichoke, and I'm happy with that. The rest of my vegetable growing has been disastrous this year. However, I haven't been focusing on it, so that's my excuse. No worries, there is still time for a bit of winter veg!

I had a good productive day at work. Not sure if I'm on track to get cleared what I'd like before I move teams, but I'm doing my best to leave things straight. It is difficult as the team will be a person down again, when i move, and i know how hard it is from experience to manage the work without enough staff, but I am sure it will all work out for the best in the end.

At lunchtime I had a short walk, browsed in the White Stuff sale at all the lovely clothes I can no longer afford, and returned to my desk to be welcomed by yet another salad lunch. 2 weeks 3 days until my holiday....and my salad days are over (thank you Spandau Ballet)

Home at 6. Molls had made a lovely mushroom and nut pilaf for dinner. Just 3 of us with Jon in Cambridge and Henry in Paris. I rang mum and dad and had a long chat. Sorry dad for not blipping sooner!

Printed out tickets for the live broadcast of Saturday Live on 23rd July when they will be doing the show from the theatre on the pier in Cromer. I applied for tickets, which were emailed today. We will need to be there to queue very early, to ensure we get in (they give out more tickets than there are seats, so you aren't guaranteed a seat) I will have one spare - any takers?

I think I'll head to bed now. Being awake I just want to eat. And with the light fading, its getting too dark to sit in my conservatory.....did I mention my lovely conservatory....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.