One click at a time

By KeithKnight

July Challenge - Z - Zenith/Zenit

1. the point on the celestial sphere vertically above a given position or observer.
2. a highest point or state; culmination.

When I bought my first SLR camera the cheapest ones around were a Russian made one by the name of Zenith, at £49, including a 50mm lens. I went 1 step up from that and bought a Praktica, which gave me over 15 years of service before I upgraded (to a Minolta).

The Zenith and Praktica shared a common lens mount (the M42 screw thread) and were many peoples introduction to SLR cameras.

However, as the bottom of the pile the Zenith (or Zenit) hardly lived up to it's name of the highest point or state!, the build quality was poor, as was typical of most exports from Soviet Russia at the time.

Last year, I bought my first Zenit product - a fish-eye lens with a Nikon mount. I have used it for a few blips in here, here, here and here. So here it is - my Zenith/Zenit.

Thanks to all of those who took part in this challenge, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Tomorrow is the start of a new month, I will be following Missymoos challenge which she posted today. This was my 148th consecutive daily challenge, so I have to make it through another couple to hit the 150!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.