The Girl in the Mirror

Today was the first day of Miss L's holiday. I asked her what she'd like to do. Whatever she wanted!
She replied Milton Keynes.
I asked what she wanted to do in Milton Keynes and she said eat lunch! When I asked her where she looked puzzled and said "upstairs"
Then the penny dropped and I realised she meant John Lewis.
It made me laugh that, for her, the whole of Milton Keynes is reduced to John Lewis cafe!!
We went after waiting for Mr Tescos and the plumber who - after six years - has finally got round to fixing a faulty valve in our heating/water system which means that whenever the water is on the heating comes on full blast. Fine in winter but not ideal when it's 25 degrees outside!!
Miss L sat in the front to Milton Keynes and pointed out "nature" all the way. We got very close to nature when a red kite swooped straight at us, up the bonnet, almost straight into the windscreen and - luckily - over the top without any apparent damage. 
Lunch was lovely. She had her kids box and I had a cup of tea! I introduced her to the glorious game of Squares. It took her a while to get the hang of it - she liked to draw four consecutive lines to make a box and got cross when I filled in the fourth. Ha ha, mean Mummy!! But she got it and beat me by an impressive 79 to 41!! (See extras)
Then she had five minutes playing with Miss L in the window!! 
I told her I wanted to look at fridge-freezers before we went and she moaned and groaned and whinged.....
..... Until we got the fridge-freezer department and she had a fabulous time opening them all, playing with water dispensers, pulling drawers out and listening to Mummy waffle on about freezer capacity.
When I told her it was time to go she moaned and groaned. Miss "I don't want to go and look at fridge-freezers"!!!!!
I love spending time with each of the Little Misses alone and every time I do it I remember that I need to do it more!
We went home and snuggled on the sofa watching cartoons and playing computer games. She's such a good cuddler!!
Then it was time to go and get Miss E and head to Milton Keynes for rock climbing. Mr K came for the first time which was lovely. Miss E was giddy that he was there to watch her.
He took his laptop for work so didn't sit with me, Mrs E and the squealy, over excited four, five and six year olds. It was just as well as the Uno got pretty feisty!!
As a special treat we went to Frankie & Benny's for dinner. It wasn't the most successful trip ever. Miss L's gluten free chicken wraps turned out to be bits of chicken and onion on top of lettuce leaves. She was distraught so had most of my gammon and jacket potato. They forgot the peas and the mayo dip thing that came with the "wraps". And they forgot the strawberry sauce in Miss L's gluten free banana split sundae so it looked exactly like the other ice cream sundae so we had to ask was it gluten free. Apparently it was!!
It was pretty cold in the restaurant so naturally Miss E started behaving as if she was at the South Pole. Melodramatic? Miss E?!!!!!!
And then they both started flopping around, falling asleep and groaning.
Our usual McDonalds drive-thru would possibly have been a more sensible - and cheaper - option!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.