Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Light through Black Skies

I had agreed to meet a friend at RHS Wisley this afternoon.

I almost called it off when I saw the near halted traffic during the daily deluge, but as I pulled into the car park the rain stopped. The clouds didn't clear but this shot of the house was miraculously illuminated by real sunshine streaming through a small break as we left. 

It must be 3 months since I last went in. Wisley's always beautiful and I should go more often. Dogs can't go in so I abandoned the idea of my morning sleep to fit in their daily run. Do one thing and you can't do another.  I do need some sleep during the day so flaked when I got in and woke just in time to get to work.  Another back blip I'm afraid. 

Rain drops on plants really make things quite pretty although the force of the downpours is evident. I want every plant I see ...and the gardeners. A local artist is exhibiting her nature sculptures so dotted around there are mostly native birds made skillfully from welded steel.  The magpie on the sign post is one of hers. She also had blackbirds, tits, kingfishers and owls, together with a bald eagle, penguins and a crocodile, that definitely don't fall into the native category but, all great fun to see and all for sale.  

On exiting Rachel hinted that she hadn't ever been in the nursery, from where I'm banned, more so than ever,  considering the state of my garden this year. Plants are an addiction and I can't come out without one.  True to form, there's a Trachelospermum asiaticum now waiting for a space somewhere and a Thalictrum splendide which is acting like a magnet to drag me back.  Once again, I assume I still live in Italy and failed to read the instructions  Trachelospermum like sheltered walls to climb.     Tough...  it lives or it dies but that ain't an option around this house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.