The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2016 #26 (Wednesday 13th July 2016)

I had an hour long wander round Bowood's Pinetum the high point of which was seeing a pigeon-sized bird on the ground that flew onto a small tree some distance away. I got a very poor shot of it through a 300mm lens and inspecting it at home I think it may be a hobby, or possibly a merlin. I'm hoping the Spotlight Kid will be able to identify it for me.

I was mostly using my ultra-wide angle lens for possible use in the Wide Wednesday challenge on the theme of Nature, and chose this image with the lake in the background, shot at 12mm on an APS-C sensor.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting the WidWed challenge.

Edit: Spotlight Kid tells me it is a juvenile cuckoo!

L.
14.7.2016 (2124 hr)

Blip #1890 (#2140 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #007
Day #2302
LOTD #1125 (#1249 including archived blips)

Bowood 2016 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2016 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)
Landscape series
Trees series

A Visit To Bowood, 13 July 2016 (Flickr album)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Byrds - Wasn't Born To Follow  (recorded 30 November 1967, Hollywood CA)
Roger McGuinn (vocal, 12-string guitar), Chris Hillman (bass guitar, vocal) with Clarence White (guitar) and Jim Gordon (drums)
Roger McGuinn (was born James Joseph McGuinn III on this day, 13 July 1942, Chicago IL)
This Gerry Goffin and Carole King song is from Notorious Byrd Brothers and was featured in the film Easy Rider.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.