On The Riverbank

A morning of paperwork and phone calls (and a little photo processing), followed by a lovely family afternoon in the woods, following a trail that led from one wooden play structure to another - great fun! We spotted a squirrel that I thought may my blip for the day but squirrels don't hang around very long when there's a little boy running around excitedly..... :)

On the way home, I stopped off by the river. I'd noticed that a field that is usually closed to the public was being prepared to serve as a temporary car park for a history festival taking place this weekend. It was a rare treat to be able to walk in and down to the river, taking in views of the minster that are rarely seen. Unfortunately, it was dull and cloudy and thinking about raining, so it wasn't ideal conditions for photography. Nonetheless, there is always beauty to be found and today it came in the form of a pair of swans (and their cygnets, although I couldn't see them at first), which were comfortably settled by the river! It seemed a very beautiful and tranquil area to be raising their young.... In the twenty minutes or so that I was there, I also saw a pair of cormorants, and then a little egret, high up in a dead tree and a kingfisher darting by up river - lovely!

This evening was spent in the home of friends - a wonderful time that meant that I returned home feeling particularly good! What a great start to the weekend!

I hope you all have a great weekend!

Many thanks for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's blip!

Ann :)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.