Dali's Hole

When we (the Powell family) used to spend all the school holidays in Dinorwig, North Wales, us kids did a fair amount of exploring of the disused slate mine workings, the slate tips, cutting sheds etc.  They were our playground... and I'm assuming that wasn't just because I'm the eldest of the four of us.  So, for old time's sake, I bought a Llanberis Slate guide which details the hundreds of climbs throughout the many areas which made up the Dinorwig Quarry.

When today dawned cloudy and drizzly I decided there was no point in walking up a mountain to see nothing at all, but instead headed to the bus turning circle, where the guide book begins with... wait for it... Bus Stop Quarry! 

All those years ago some sections of slate were still being worked, I can remember hearing the blasting, and so it was really interesting to be able to walk right through the quarry and down to Nant Peris.  The scale of the place is tremendous.  The rain persisted until I caught a glimpse of Australia (the quarry not the country lol) and then it held off just long enough for the slate to dry and for several groups of climbers to walk up the zig-zags to take a chance with the weather... which unfortunately didn't last.

I don't suppose I'll ever climb here, and the majority of the routes seem to be in the E grades, but it was an enjoyable walk and it seemed as though two bits of my life came together, just like when I bought the climbing guide in Catalan.

See yesterdays blip for climbing and chips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.