DE BOSCHVIJVER APELDOORN

We had an extraordinary and very festive celebration of my brother and his wife's 50th anniversary of their mariage.
My brother had asked Mischa if she would like to take photos of the event, and she had gladly consented. She had asked me to bring my camera too, so that I could take also pictures and we could eventually compare and choose the best.
Family and good friends ahd come, speeches were hold, from their daughter and son, a song was made by daughter-in-law, there was a small band, we walked around a big pond with the band in front of us.
Piet Hein and I had fancied to leaf at nine pm. to catch a bus and the train, and lightrail home. But it was obvious that at that time we only had the first course eaten and were waiting for the main course.
When my brother asked me if we would stay the night at his place, we liked the offer and had accepted.
Mischa and her friend had earlier in the week asked if they could stay there too, because they would travel from there to our house in Germany  today.
This morning we had a very cosy breakfast, waved Mischa and Tim goodbye, and just before twelve we were driven to the station for our journey home.
So good to have a lovely family, even when we do not see them very often. We just feel at home all the time we come together.
After drinking a cup of tea, we both had a nap, and when we were awake again, Mischa phoned that their travel had been good and loved to be at their destination for a short holiday.

My haiku:

Ponds are my favourites
With colourful boats even
More without sailing

And the quote by W. Somerset Maugham, Mrs. Dot (1912):

If people waited to know one another before they married, the world wouldn't so grossly overcrowded.

So wonderfully cynical this old writer! Or is it skeptical perhaps?

Now I hurry to go browsing and commenting!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.