Six-spot Burnet

This day-flying moth is as originally named as most of my blips! But it's a real scarlet beauty and caught my eye whilst in flight next to the River Lea at Hartham Common. (The hind wings are red)

It's feeding on Common Knapweed here but it's caterpillars prefer Birdsfoot Trefoil.

We also saw countless Large & Small Whites, several Ringlets, a Red Admiral, a Marbled White and a several Commas, but none of them were as obliging as the Burnet Moth, much as I tried to capture them.

Finally Summer has arrived. It's bbq weather for the second weekend in a row and much warmer at 24C with a lovely warm wind too. It's due to get up to 28C in the next few days! Yippee!

We picked lots of summer fruits in the garden this afternoon, I did my physio exercises outside and then had an open air swim. Well, you never know how long the good weather will last so best to make the most of it while we can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.