The Lizard King Of The Castle

After a gorgeous breakfast of fresh fruit, oeufs en cocotte and smoked salmon we headed for the Grottes de Remouchamps, a series of caves with Europe's longest underground river running through them. The tour was quite a workout as we had to negotiate slippery rock walkways, lots of steep steps and cast iron spiral staircases. On the boat trip there was the constant danger of bashing one's head against the rocky walls, stalactites and stalagmites.

We then went to the Chateau Franchimont, a ruined medieval castle. We had fun exploring this. My companions went down some narrow, vertiginous stone steps into the bowels of the castle. I thought it best to remain above. Gerry teased my daughter by standing on the steel mesh above a huge and very deep well.

I was delighted to spot this lizard. I've never photographed one close up before. It looks so pristine because I think it has just moulted. It had leg-shaped bits of skin hanging off its tail.

When we got back to the hotel we enjoyed watching some quite exotic cars arriving.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.