Clouds And Second Lining

It has been very wet here today. I was going to post a pic of a variant of the comb-footed spider, Enoplognatha ovata, that I hadn't seen before. It was covered in water droplets. I changed my mind when I was given a task by MrQ. He asked me to go through his collection of colourful umbrellas to make sure they were all in working order and properly furled as he needs them for tonight's jazz club gig.

He'll hand them out to his adoring female fans and they'll strut/dance to the music whilst twirling the umbrellas or waving handkerchiefs. This is called second lining. It originated in New Orleans jazz funerals. The main line is the band and the principal mourners. The second line is made up of people who have come just because they like the music. The tradition spread to brass band parades. There's a second lining sequence in James Bond Live And Let Die. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYRkBqYSiJg

Today's poem is Coat by Vicki Feaver. http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2011/11/25/the-friday-poem-coat-by-v_n_1112775.html

The Huff says it all. This is my kind of poem. Beautifully simple. VF said that she is almost ashamed of the poem's simplicity, which is sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.