Weet From The Chiffchaff

I had quite a bit of admin to do today so Jazzy and I didn't get out with the camera until late afternoon. We found some bugs on a dock seed head. The big ones were dock shieldbugs but the smaller ones were, I think, various instars of box bugs. (Extras) I'm pleased because I've found three more golden box bug eggs on a morning glory leaf in the garden. Hope I manage to see them hatch.

When we got to the area by the bottom boiler house a pair of chiffchaffs called, "Weet" at us repeatedly. They didn't retreat but kept advancing. I'm wondering if they have a nest nearby. They build on or near the ground. Darling birds, I love them.

Today's poem is The Deserter by John Philpot Curran. http://www.bartleby.com/333/280.html

It was written after Curran had a conversation with a deserter. The penalty for desertion was death. Curran asked if the deserter would sooner spend the time left to him fasting and penitent or drowning his sorrows. "Let us be merry before we go." I was interested to read that this Irish wit, orator, politician, lawyer and judge had a speech impediment that he overcame.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.