Mural memorial for my friend Janet

I last saw my dear friend Janet on 21st October 2012. She died just a few days later of pancreatic cancer, aged only 50. Janet was a well-known children's librarian, and one of the project team that worked on the development of the Library of Birmingham. Sadly Janet didn't live to see the completion of the new library.

This morning Mr hazelh and I, accompanied by our friend Jerry (who flew over from Ireland for yesterday's reunion), had the opportunity to go and see both the new library and this mural in the children's library. I had no idea that the memorial to Janet would be so large and prominent - or that two of us would be in tears when we saw it. Fortunately a kind member of staff, who was initially appointed to her post by Janet some time ago, was on hand with a supply of tissues.

There's more about Janet's work in an article on the Library of Birmingham web site. I'm so proud to have been her friend.

Exercise today: walking around Birmingham city centre astonished at how much it has changed (and improved!) since our student days  (12,694 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.