A Fritillary

A walk up to the village and over the ridge and boy was it hot, but I'm not complaining as we get too little real summer.  I did ask Hildasrose to put in a good word for our visit to Hidcote and Kifsgate on Wednesday, but a bit cooler would probably be more acceptable to most.

Not much birdlife on the ridge and the wild flowers are going over.  Once I was down through the fields I headed into the wood where it was equally quiet apart from overhead buzzards.  I was just ambling along the bridlepath where the woods open up when I spotted a couple of what I thought were Comma butterflies but which turned out to be Fritillaries.  I spent ages waiting for one or other to settle, whilst keeping an eye on a dragonfly that was flying around me.  I eventually got a few shots but this was the sharpest and the nearest I could get at 20x zoom.  Sometimes I suppose you have to be satisfied.

Yesterday's weevil turns out to be a Scarce Fungus Weevil, not scarce at all, that's just its name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.