Something Rotten

Something is rotten "in the state of Denmark" in this row of erstwhile mews.
Once upon a time this would have been a lane of stables for the horses of the George Square inhabitants but now it's a cobbled alleyway of garages complete with graffitied doors and suspect woodwork.

I've never seen anyone using them and they would seem ripe for some entrepreneur to convert them in to mews houses.

Although the day of departure for France is not until Friday, I have been practising filling my panniers with what I shall need for 10 days away.
This involves making a pile of clothes, putting them into the panniers, taking them out again and removing half .
It's not so much the room, it's rather the weight which can make the bike extremely back heavy.

The fact that, en route, we have a night in a Travel Lodge and a night on a ferry complicates the packing, because our panniers will be locked away in the storage hold of the Bikeliner Bus.

His Lordship of course does not share my worry and anxious genes and is leaving things to the last moment.
I don't think he is even aware of where we have to join the bus. Navigation to the obscure business park outside Hull is my remit and could well end in tears if I get it wrong.

However for the moment all will be forgotten as I cycle with Wiggins this afternoon along the roads near London at 40 mph. Wish me luck!

EDIT: Well the British boys, Wiggins and Froome, did the business, although the tension in the Dower House was almost to much to bear this afternoon.


Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.