Yorkshire Air Museum

I went to the Yorkshire Air Museum today - having deposited Mrs madwill at a quilt show in nearby Elvington.

I had a couple of hours to look around and whilst there are loads of displays and cabinets I didn't spend a lot of time reading - just looking for photos.

I have to say I was a little disappointed in the number and condition of the exhibits outside. They seemed to be in a poor state. Also from an aesthetics point of view a lot of the external craft have engine covers and large tarpaulins over them to protect them so not a lot of good from a pure plane photography point of view. Some of the planes (like this Victor tanker) are maintained so that they can be taxied and run along the ground.

There is an impressive hangar with a Halifax bomber in - but it is so crowded with other planes and vehicles it is difficult to photograph.

On the plus side, I was only charged a Senior concession price to get in, so I did 'Gift Aid' the fee and I did buy a guide book! A first for me, I must be looking old now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.