Heifers

What a day we've had so far and it's only 4.30 pm.

For our morning walk we walked to the same field as yesterday so the dogs could eat all the grass they fancied and run around free.

Not long after that we took the dogs to the lake and they had some fun there. Amadeus even took some bathing moments by himself. The heifers got scared of us and you can see them running away from us in the picture. These are young cows who have not had calf yet and they were on the field just by the two of them.

After the lake I washed the muddy dogs and had some coffee. Then it was out to the fields again this time to weed invasive species that are trying to take over. We managed to do that for 1,5 hours. I got bitten by gadflies three times. Got the same amount of electric shocks from the electric fence. And got stung by nettle too many times. It was time to call it quits for today after hubby got such an electric shock to his back that he flew face first to the muddy creek. It looked pretty scary, but after I knew he was alright I couldn't help but laugh. He was muddy from his face down. I'm still laughing out load when I think about it. He actually - for a moment - had his face down and legs up. I should have gotten that picture, or even better yet, a video.



I don't know if it was the swearing that followed that fall that kind of got the cows curious about what we were doing. All of a sudden 10+ cows were coming to us and I was ready to duck to the other side of the electric fence. But even with a big entourage they are more scared of us than I of them and they kept few meters between us. Those pictures are still in the camera. Not me being scared but the cows really really close.



We were both pretty muddy and sweaty so all clothes just went into the washer right away. As soon as the machine is done and I can hung the clothes out to the sun, we'll take the dogs for their afternoon walk to the woods and try to find some blueberries and raspberries to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.