Diavolezza

Today we took the shuttle bus high into the mountains to 2000m+ at Diavolezza for a very different kind of orienteering terrain.  My blip shows the mountainside which was the location for today's courses, mainly above the treeline on a mix of very rocky ground with single trees and the odd marshy flat ground/moorland.  It was very visible from the event arena on the high valley floor beneath the Diavolezza cable car.

I was cross with a Swiss competitor who 'waited' for me to come out of the start and then hung on to me all the way around the course, even when I made a couple of mistakes!  Instead of navigating, she stopped when I stopped to relocate and then took off after me again.  Thankfully she had the good grace to allow me to finish before her!

Despite the heat and those navigational errors, I finished in 9th place so I am well pleased with that. Several competitors mispunched and others retired, I guess because of the physicality of those rocky areas.

Back at the apartment after a caffee & ciocallato (and a tea for Tony!) at the Bahnhof Cafe, and shopping, and those 554 steps, we've both had a go under the 'alternative' showerhead (we are a two loo and two showerhead apartment, posh what?!)  The showerhead is some size and it feels like you are under your own personal storm cloud but hot - very good!

Tomorrow is rest day so we plan a walk before the heat of the day gets going again.

Last night's moon peeping out from behind the mountain across the lake.

Here's the video from today's event so you can see I wasn't exaggerating about the rocks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.