An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Jen...

Today is my mum's sister Jennifer's birthday.  I call her my mum's sister rather than my aunt as there's only 12 years between and I've never viewed her in an aunty type roll  :-))

When I started sorting through old family photos last week I came across this one and kept it to blip today.  J

Jennifer is the little girl sitting in the middle of the two ladies.  It says on the back of the photo Bushey 1962 so she'd be 8.   I have no idea who the men are but the two ladies were friends of my grandpa's sister, who married and Englishman and moved to London (hope you're keeping up :-)   The woman on the left is called Stella and on the right is the woman I was named after, Diane.   They were both Tiller Girls at the London Palladium.   

Yes, that's right, me with my creaky hips, dodgy knees and limited mobility was named after a Tiller Girl!  You can stop laughing now :D  

I love this photo because it is so of its time.   So easily identifiable of that era.  

Anyhoo, Happy Birthday Jen.  I know you've had a lovely lunch out and hope the rest of the day is extra special.

It's been roast toasty here today.  Hope you've all been enjoying the sunshine too.  Hope to sit in the garden for dinner this evening but thundery rain is forecast.

Rose of Friendship
Meet Bailey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.