SHIBDON POND

My internet went off just as I was about to post this so I lost everything .... so here goes for the second time.

The weather today was hot - very HOT.  Mustn't grumble though as it's the first hot day we have had this Summer.

I decided to go to Blaydon.  To get some extra steps I walked down to the village and got the bus to Swalwell.  Its not far but its all downhill - and my knees don't like downhill.

Then I walked towards Blaydon.  My route took me past Shibdon Pond and I had brought some oats with me to feed the birds.   (Oats are apparently healthier than bread ).  When I approached I could see lots of geese and ducks chilling out on the grass.  When they saw me they all started running towards me.  I didn't give them any oats as I thought things might get rough.  So I went down to the waters edge and put some oats down in three different places.  They were soon gobbled up.  In my extra shots you can see the birds on the grass, a view of the pond and one duck which was completely different to all the rest.

Then I sat on a bench in the shade of a large tree.  It was nice to get out of the sun for a while.  Carried on walking to Blaydon and did some shopping.  Got two buses home - no more walking as the shopping was too heavy.

I sat outside on the patio for about an hour - read through the Radio Times and just relaxed before cooking my meal  -  salmon and salad.

Felt sorry for Neil today as he had a 13 hour shift at work.  He has a day off tomorrow and is planning on playing golf - but heavy rain and thunderstorms are forecast.  Hope the forecast is wrong.

Steps today - 10,352

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.