HEARTS

I had to stay in yesterday waiting for the arrival of our new sideboard and nest of tables, so instead of doing too much, as I have done of late, I decided I would sit and knit some hearts.  All this started when Marylou, my Pakistani friend, who is now living in Bangkok, sent me a link to a reading on an app we both use, with the verse from 1 Samuel 18 v. 1:

“When he had finished speaking to Saul, the soul of Jonathan was knit to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul.”

I was thinking how close Marylou and I had become, even though we have never met;  we have exchanged many emails and messages and she did blip for a while, which was how I met her in the first instance.

I decided that I would knit some hearts - and knitted them in the colours of our national flag, the Union Jack - red, white and blue.  I knitted two large hearts and a small one, stitched them together and then wrote out the verse and put it into the front heart where I had left a slot for it to slide into.  They are very easy to do but sadly the first ones I sent never arrived, so I had to make more and thankfully these arrived safely.

I also made one for our son’s girlfriend, Oh, and sent both of them to Marylou;  she has recently met Oh, who has been very helpful to her since she arrived in Bangkok.  They then met up and Marylou handed over the gift to Oh, and when a young friend of Oh’s, Yuki, saw them, he said he wanted some too, so as he is only about 6 years old, I thought I would make a gift for him and send it.  

I haven’t done much knitting since I finished the Nativity Set way back in March 2013, because my thumbs have been quite painful, but I did buy some bamboo knitting needles and these don’t cause as much pain as the metal ones - the trouble is they are very expensive, but I may just have to invest in another pair.  

If you would like the pattern for the hearts, you can find it here.  Have fun!

“Properly practised, 
     knitting soothes the trouble spirit,
and it doesn’t hurt
     the untroubled spirit either.”
Elizabeth Zimmerman

P.S.  The sideboard looks great and matches the table very well - see extra photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.