Arvin - Oil on canvas - 36 by 24 inches

 Today I finished this painting, though I might do a bit more on the upper left corner to vary the texture a bit more. But mostly it is done. It is a portrait I did of Arvin for our upcoming show at the Colophon Cafe in September. The theme is "Chasing Edvard Munch." Our paintings are supposed to convey something of Munch's work but not necessarily look like it. He was concerned with the inner landscape and his paintings are very emotional and evocative. I decided to do a portrait of Arvin and in it express some of the feelings I am experiencing about him and what is happening to him. I used a photo I took of him awhile back that I had fiddled with using the Topaz Impressions plug in. The photo looks like a painting but not like my painting. I'll find it and add a link when I do. Here it is. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2015256715108287923?

Steve and Helena came for dinner and then all of us went to Fairhaven to Rocket Donuts where we had some yummy Acme ice cream. Then we took a walk. We dropped Helena off at her apartment on the way home. Steve and i played Carcassonne before dinner and at the end of the evening. We split the games. I won the first and he won the last. Both were close enough to be interesting and fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.