Northern Flicker

I went to therapy and support group today. I hadn't seen my therapist for a few weeks and it was so great to talk to her about what was going on in my life. It's a kind of strange time right now. On the one hand I'm tired of giving care. (That doesn't mean I don't want to or plan to stop. I'm just tired of the repetitive chores and thinking and strategizing about the future.) At the same time I am in a creative growth spurt with my painting. I feel like I am finally levitating from an artistic plateau I've been on for quite awhile. This latest series of paintings feels like something new and closer to where I want to be in my art. So I am light hearted and very happy about that. And heavy hearted and concerned about Arvin's changes and where we are heading from here. That is what I talked to my therapist about, and the group too.

When I got home and Arvin arrived we settled for some quiet time on the deck. I brought my camera out and was delighted that the young male Northern Flicker decided to come and sample some of the suet. The jays were cooperating too. It was a lovely quiet time. And I knew we were going out to meet some of our Alzheimer's Society friends at Elizabeth Park to share an outdoor meal and listen to music so I was feeling happy not to be cooking dinner and looking forward to seeing our friends.

We bought hot dogs for dinner when we got to the park and had a nice time talking with our friends. The band was playing loud rock music which did not float Arvin's boat (or mine if I'm honest) but our table was at the other end of the park and we could have a good conversation so the evening was good.

When we got home we watched a movie called "Dear Frankie" that we both liked in spite of a bit of a problem understanding the strong Scottish accents. After awhile the accents clicked in and we were able to get what folks were saying... mostly. It was a sweet movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.