Battle of the Seahawks

No it's not football. I just learned today that osprey are nicknamed seahawks. So all those birds I've been seeing lately were actually the mascot of the football team from Seattle. Who knew?

I think this is a young one dive bombing an adult. They were in a tree above Derby Pond in the park. Arvin and I took a long walk there after dinner.

I had a really lovely day. It began when Helen picked me up and we drove to Cathy's to pick her and Kathleen up and head over to the Lummi Island ferry. We crossed to the island and drove around awhile while we looked for a gallery. We thought that the other ladies had missed the ferry and would be there later. Turns out they were already at Lynn's where we were meeting for book club. We finally all got together there and then immediately set off for the gallery and had a really wonderful visit before returning to Lynn's for lunch and discussion. The whole time I felt like I was on vacation. Somehow getting on a ferry and crossing to an island felt like going to somewhere playful and exotic even though it was only a short ride. I was in a giddy mood and had fun playing tricks and laughing a great deal. When it looked like I'd be home late, I texted my brother Steve to see if he was available to go to our house and hang out with Arvin. He was and so I didn't worry when I knew I'd be home late.

Steve and i played Carcassonne when I got there and then Arvin and I had dinner and a really long walk for him, almost three miles. That's when we saw the osprey. it was a great day.

Now it is after midnight and I must get some sleep. Happy day all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.