Inside Outside

Today I went to open studio to paint. I had already finished this small oil painting (12 by 9 inches) and began work on another one. I had a great time working on the new one. It is very large - 24 by 36 inches - and I am still in the beginning, working out my composition and putting down the first paint. It is the first large painting I've done in quite a long time. Feels good to break out from the little ones I've been doing lately. The source photo is one I used when I first started to paint. My good friends Chris and Jyl bought that painting. I've been thinking of reusing that photo for some time. It has lots of light and shadow and fits right in with my new series. I'll blip the painting when I get a bit further in its creation. Meanwhile there is this little one which I quite like. It is based on a photo I took in Butrint, Albania of a cafe for tourists. Can you guess where the inside is and where the outside is?

Yesterday I had a great time in Seattle. Haven't had time to post a blip yet but will do that as soon as I can grab a moment. We went to Seattle and met with Michael Hiltzik before his lecture at Town Hall Seattle about his book Big Science. We had dinner with him before the lecture and had a great visit. The traffic in Seattle was unbelievably bad but we had a great time anyhow. I'll blip our day tomorrow I expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.