Steampunk Costume Winners

Had a busy and playful day today. We started at the Farmer's Market where we met Helena. Bought some more of my favorite baked goodies from the Raven Bread gal, and some delicious peaches from eastern Washington. 

At home we relaxed awhile and then headed down to Fairhaven to meet Dave, Nora, Rick and Judy and take in the Steampunk event. All of us enjoy the creativity and cleverness of the costumes that combine Victorian fashion with modern technology. Much fun and so clever. It was a hot day so we stayed an hour or so and then headed across the street to a crepe restaurant for a late lunch. There were some Morris dancers in front of the restaurant, dancing and hitting large poles on the ground and into each other's poles. It was fun to watch and made a satisfying racket. After lunch we all headed up for ice cream before Arvin, Helena and I headed home and the rest of the gang headed off to the Bellingham Bells baseball game.

The photo is the winning couple of the costume contest. The fellow had a flame thrower which he demonstrated when he was on the stage. It was very impressive as the flames shot a good six feet in the air. The extra photo is the Morris dancers.

I had a weird camera happening that I didn't figure out until this evening. When I looked in the viewfinder of my Panasonic FZ1000 I saw a bright sun shape in the middle top of the view. When I took a photo there it was. I thought my sensor was broken. I put away the camera and used the Sony RX100 IV that lives in my purse. When I got home I posted on DPreview.com to see if anybody knew what was going on. Meanwhile this evening the problem was gone and the camera had mysteriously gotten into panorama mode. Later I read a post that told me what happened. Somehow I accidentally put the camera in a screen mode that simulates the sun blasting at the viewer. That is what I was seeing. Now I'll know if it happens again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.