After Intermission

Tonight was the last concert of the Bellingham Festival of Music. It is always sad when they play their last note of the season. I snuck this photo at the end of intermission. The choir was on stage. The orchestra was mostly ready. The audience was still filing in. It was an all Bernstein concert and we were about to hear his Chichester Psalms performed by the Festival Orchestra and the Festival Chorus, the latter being a volunteer local group. For many years I sang with this group. Since my high voice decided to fly away, I am now a happy listener, not a singer. I kid around that I lost my top and the only bottom I gained I'm sitting on. Ha ha. Used to be a high lyric soprano. But I digress.

The concert was wonderful. It began with the overture to Candide which the orchestra played again at the end of the concert as an encore. Love that music. Next Robert McDuffie played the Serenade (after Plato's "Symposium"). This is a piece I had never heard and it was fun and beautiful. McDuffie was amazing and I was happy to add this piece to my favorites list. After intermission we heard the Chichester Psalms, a piece I had sung a long time back. And finally Symphonic Dances from West Side Story. We were all on our feet at the end with delight. It was a perfect ending to one of the best festivals yet. Next year will be the 25th anniversary and Arvin and I got our first season's tickets in 1993 when it began.

My friend Helen came with me to the concert. Pat was not able to come so she donated her ticket to Helen. H and I went out to Thai dinner before the concert and had a great evening together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.