Flowering Teasels

The teasels in the garden are growing like Topsy, or giants if you prefer. I think we may be overrun in future years, but if they attract goldfinches, I shall be more than happy. 

You can see the effect of 'white heat' forming a halo round the flower head. This was the first to flower. Myriads of little flowerets. A lilac sheen appears around the heads to suggest the imminence of flowering. I think I prefer that to seeing the flowers in full. 

Still hot, but not quite as hot as Tuesday. A very heavy shower late afternoon brought welcome relief. The night was hot and heavy.

I was too lazy and lethargic to go for a walk. Basil and I did go to the hairdressers in Loughborough for me to have my wedding nail varnish removed. Boo Hoo, although the nails were getting uncomfortably long for me. While we were there, it seemed a good opportunity to get my hair cut too.

Thereafter, remembrance is a bit hazy. Len had a tooth out, so I ended up eating salad for lunch and supper, which was fine. I fried halloumi and garlic in olive oil. G&T, then a glass of red wine, and vegging in front of Midsomer Murders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.