If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wasps nest.

A day of two halves.  In the morning we were renewing old acquaintances.  C & P who I worked with about 40 years ago have decided to move back to Penrith to enjoy the Lakes in retirement.  So we were invited round to their new home for a good catch up.   I don't think I have seen either of them more than once since their wedding 39 years ago.  Both were on top form and in good health and an enjoyable morning followed.

We are planning a few days in southern Scotland next week so my afternoon was mainly based round checking everything in the caravan was as it should be.  It is amazing how things get "borrowed" to go to a show and don't immediately get back where they belong.

One of the caravan jobs I wasn't particularly looking forward to was removing a wasps nest.  We had spotted them going into the locker box a week or so ago so I had sprayed the nest to kill them.  I didn't however hang around long enough to check if much equipment had been built into the nest.  Fortunately I had caught the nest at stage 2 where the colony has grown beyond just the queen but isn't yet large enough to grow rapidly.  So the shot shows a few of the cells sealed with dead pupae and one dead wasp just about ready to hatch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.