Abstract Thursday

'Dreaming out of the Window' is the abstract challenge theme for today.  Note to self: check any theme before embarking on a day's photography!
So after a busy day, I look to find the tag and realise that the theme is what it is!  Trawl through today's efforts to see what could possibly fit.....

Let me explain.... 
The week has been pretty full so far and today only had a couple of events in the calendar. Still recovering from an amazing blipmeet yesterday, I set off for Waddesdon to attend the Volunteers Coffee morning.  Lovely cake on offer as well as the chance to chat to other volunteers including those from areas other than the House.  Then there was a tour of the Aviaries and I had opted for this. There is the main 'on show' aviary up near the House and there is also an 'off-shore' aviary which is a bit of a walk from the House and where most of the work is actually done.  We were able to see everything and the guy in charge of this area is amazing - he knows everything!  I can barely distinguish a robin from a blackbird but Gavin's knowledge is incredible - and his enthusiasm. So I was much later than I had intended in getting away home to change, pick up camera gear and head into London.

Part II to the day was an exploration of a hidden tunnel of the London Underground guided by a team from London Transport. We were due to meet at the entrance to Clapham South - that' s a long way across London.  I thought I'd just have time (if I walked quickly) to pop along and have a 'recce' of Kensal Green Cemetery first.  A more sensible person would have filled in that short window of opportunity with sitting somewhere quiet with a coffee and newspaper or, perchance, a short visit to The Portrait Gallery - which is at least heading in the right direction.  Oh no, I go in the opposite direction and sprint as fast as my heavy backpack would allow, to have a brief look at another burial site.  I will definitely return to see the most incredible tombs - as someone said... they don't make them like that any more!  

I just about made it down to Clapham South in time for the underground tour - a whole labyrinth below the current tube level which was created in readiness for the bliz of WW2.  Thousands of people would have used this place and conditions would have been 'challenging'!  These tunnels weren't really used as they were completed just in time for the end of the war - but everything had been thought of.

We walked miles (and I'd already done a few) and learned a lot from our guides.  A quick bite to eat before catching a train home.  If I was sensible - and you will know already that this is not an adjective you can apply to me - I would have left my blip until tomorrow!  So here it is - a Heavenly view from the 'window' of earth looking up from Kensal Green Cemetery. 

Tomorrow is a quieter day - nothing is in the diary but I'm sure I will find something to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.