Leiflife

By Leiflife

300 Turtles

Not really, but it seems that nearly two years after being so warmly welcomed into the blip community, I have managed to reach the 300 milestone. This magnificent turtle that I rescued from my pond consented to pose and to represent my turtle-like slowness, especially obvious when it comes to posting blips and commenting.

I am slow, and not particularly contented with my slowness, whereas the turtle is content to sit in the sun with a delicate smile on her snout, content to wait as her body recovers from her drenching stay in the pond. She doesn't mind my hovering human presence. As my pets have known, she seems to know I am here to serve, whether as rescuer or feeder. All of the turtles who live in the woods around my house are fond of bananas. I am, too...

But seriously, I am also very fond of blipfoto: It's community represents the best of human community in this amazing world we all call home. I have come to love the people from far and near with whom I commune as I can. I appreciate your dearness and your sensitive response to my photographs and words, and I am eternally grateful for your patience at my slowness.

I am slow, and haven't much hope of changing. For the moment, I accept this turtle as my teacher, and try to accept myself as I am...with a smile on my snout.

I include a photo of an abstract dancing woman that I intended to blip for abstract Thursday. The turtle seemed more appropriate for my 300th blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.