a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Seeing Red

"Back in my school days acting the fool boys
One and one and one made three
And the man said come and cut yourself a piece of the big time.


Armour-clad forces riding trojan horses
Never made sense to me
I didn't wanna be a part of the great debate on moonshine.


‘Stop, pay the price', they said to me, ‘take this advice:
You're out of your head'
Stop, hold the ‘phone -- this has to be cut to the bone
Too bad -- I see red, I see red. I see red.


She slips and stumbles, twists and she tumbles
She always lands on her feet
And she keeps her face turned to the far horizon.


Won't you come this way -- won't you go my way
Her rhythm doesn't miss a beat
She's just doin' everything she can to keep surviving.


‘Stop, pay the price', she said to me, ‘take this advice:
You're out of your head'
Stop, hold the ‘phone -- this has to be cut to the bone
Too bad -- I see red, I see red. I see red. Yeah."

Jim Rafferty ~ See Red


This visitor to the buddleja bush in the garden is of course a Red Admiral. Not a native to the UK it is a summer migrant from central Europe.  I'm not too sure how many of them will be allowed into the country post Brexit ;-)

I couldn't resist a link to Gerry Rafferty's version of his older brother Jim's song "I see red".  The lyric seems strangely appropriate to the UK's political situation.

The song was first covered by Frida (of ABBA fame), and was also Clannad's second single.  Gerry covered the song 10 years after Frida, but to my mind his version is the superior one.  I would love to hear Jim's version but sadly it is not at all easy to find.

We've had a long day visiting son James and his fiancé Katie in Southampton.  The weather has been beautiful, and although much of the day has been spent in the car, the English countryside is gorgeous in these conditions.  I hope you are all having a suitably relaxed and enjoyable weekend.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.