a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Extinguished

Derelict Sunday:  Human

"Slowly fading blue
The eastern hollows catch
The dying sun
Night-time follows 
Silence and black
Mirror pool mirrors
The lonely place
Where I meet you


See your head
In the fading light
And through the dark
Your eyes shine bright


And burn
Like fire
Burn like fire in Cairo
Burn like fire
Burn like fire in Cairo


Shifting crimson veil
Silken hips slide
Under my hand
Swollen lips whisper
My name
And I yearn
You take me in your arms
And start to burn"

The Cure ~ Fire in Cairo


Thank you JanetHH  for hosting Derelict Sunday - and setting the challenge "Human".  Now, this photo won't seem to qualify, but bear with me ...


I have recently finished reading Joe Hill's "The Fireman".  The book tells the story of an infection which the doctors call Draco Incendia Trchophyton, but which everyone else calls Dragonscale.  Those infected burst into flames, incinerating themselves and anyone and anything close to them.  Its a classic apocalyptic novel, (written by Steven King's son). In the book these fire extinguishers would be essential hospital equipment.  The story tells the tale of a school nurse "Harper" and her relationship with the eponymous Fireman, who seems to have a potential answer to the infection. 

When you get to think about it, all dereliction has a human component.  The combination of nature and the inevitable progress of time do the rest.  I guess that even fire extinguishers need somewhere to go when their time is done.

I came across this large pile of extinguishers on a walk this afternoon with my brother-in-law Incredibish.  We had spent a very enjoyable time having lunch with Mark and my sister Janet, before deciding that a walk would do us all good.

This seems to be another red blip, but fortunately it is Mono Monday tomorrow, so that should break any pattern that might be forming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.