a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Like the Weather

Flower Friday 24:  Osteospermum in the rain

The sore throat had abated enough this morning for me to go back to work, or so I thought.  A couple of hours in the office soon convinced me otherwise, as head swimming, I realised that I was really struggling to understand the papers I was trying to concentrate on; things that would normally take me 5 minutes to get to grips with were taking 3 or four times that.  So I've come back home to take it easy on what is the wettest of wet days.

"Colour of the sky as far as I can see is coal grey.
Lift my head from the pillow and then fall again.
Shiver in my bones, just thinking about the weather.
Quiver in my lip as if I might cry.
 
Well by the force of will my lungs are filled and so I breathe.
Lately it seems this big bed is where I never leave.
Shiver in my bones, just thinking about the weather.
A quiver in my voice as I cry,
 
What a cold and a rainy day.
Where on earth is the sun hid away?
 
Hear the sound of a noon bell chime.
Well I'm far behind.
You've put in 'bout half a day
while here I lie
With a shiver in my bones just thinking about the weather.
A quiver in my voice as if I might cry,
 
What a cold and rainy day.
   
Where on earth is the sun hid away?"


10,000 Maniacs - Like the Weather 


Natalie Merchant's lyrics somehow seem rather appropriate today.  Interesting how such an upbeat tune serves  such poignant downbeat lyrics so well.


Thanks got to Biker Bear, our host for Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.