A winter's morning at Viaduct Harbour

Disappointment for the NZ women's pair oar last night (NZ time). They were the only crew with the gumption to try to go with the British pair, who were unbeatable as it turned out. The NZ women suffered the fate of being passed on the line by the fast finishing Australians.

My usual early morning run, and today I went down the hill to the waterfront and around the Viaduct Harbour precinct. This was the last picture I took before heading back to climb up to the Grey Lynn ridge, and home.

I did think about lightening the shadows, which were not quite so dark to my vision. Decided to leave the image entirely unaltered as the sky and the water reflections cannot be improved, in my opinion. That would be the risk for me in tutuing with the image.

gpzero suggested that I might somehow conjure up these skies. Due to having a morning metabolism, I am the recipient of morning skies galore, and we tend to have some glorious ones here. I do try to find something to put in the foreground to add interest, or create a unique feel to the image. I hope that I have succeeded in that with this one.

Late Addition: do take the time to look at this in large
Also; what a great row from the New Zealand double sculls to take the Gold. Got home from Peer Review (over dinner) in time to enjoy the tension.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.