Rainy morning sunrise

Slightly erratic sleeping pattern persisted again today. Woke early, though, rather than late. Got the newspaper from where they drop it just inside the front door of the building. Saw what I chose to not stay up and watch last night; Mark Todd dropped some rails and finished 12th although he did enough to help the team into 3rd.

Decided I would go out, in the gentle misty rain, before sunrise. Headed out on the route to the top of Maungawhau. Saw one or two local thoughts, and took a shot or two to get a picture, not expecting any sort of sunrise.

However, as I toiled (i.e. walked) up the last bit of the climb to the summit, I could see the glare of the sun and the amazing colour in the sky. I took a series of photographs and chose this one despite the drop of water on the lens providing an unusual appearance. I liked the silhouetted trees, and the lines and layers.

Turned to look the other way. There was an almost vertical rainbow, and down below an almost unbroken line of headlights of early morning commuters heading for the city. Can be seen in my blipfolio.

Ran home without thinking about the camera, as I had already had all I could handle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.