Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A (very) reluctant subject

Yesterday, one of Mum's embroidery friends, Jane, held a fundraising event by opening her garden to the public. Jane and her husband, Ivan, live in the small village of Falstone, just to the east of the Kielder Reservoir. Ivan was born in Falstone. They lived in Hexham for many years when they were raising a family and working, but returned to Falstone in retirement.

Their house is just the sort I would like to live in.

Jane had treatment for breast cancer over 15 years ago. As she said, "it was very straightforward and I was fine". Last year she developed secondaries and is currently receiving chemotherapy. She has a very positive attitude. An experienced embroiderer, she continues to study embroidery at Durham Cathedral as a member of the Cathedral broderers group. They have to work to a very high standard.

We could not attend the "do" yesterday because we were in Newcastle at the theatre. About 150 people visited. Many had tea in the village hall and bought plants. The raffle had been magnificent with generous donations from local businesses and individuals. They have raised at least £2,000 for the Tynedale Hospice at Home.

We had a lovely afternoon, with our own private visit to the garden.

The Hospice want a photo of Jane in her garden so I said I would oblige. Usually I find that after a few rather stiff images, people relax and the best image is in the bag. I have to say that I thought my charms were not going to work with Jane. It took quite some time to obtain this shot. Ivan was standing behind me and waving his arms around. That meant that Jane's eyes kept following him.......

I hope she will be happy with this image and some more I have taken.

We met Jane and Ivan's dog and the 3 on holiday there with Jane's daughter. Two are resucue dogs from Romania.

Mum seemed OK today after yesterday's trip to Newcastle and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to Kielder today.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.