DIDN'T WE HAVE A LOVELY TIME.....

…..the day we went to Cheltenham!

I wanted to see where Mr HCB had been spending his time for the last couple of weeks so decided to accompany him to Cheltenham today. The Cheltenham Cricket Festival is held at Cheltenham College;  Gloucester County Cricket Club has been playing there for more than 140 years and is thought to be one of the most successful cricket festivals in the world.

Unlike yesterday, which was hot and sunny, it was very cloudy today and I was a bit concerned because I hadn't brought a jacket with me but I decided to walk into the town and have a wander around so left Mr. HCB to enjoy his day of cricket.

Many of the buildings in Cheltenham are very imposing and I had a great time just wandering around enjoying their grandeur.  I also enjoyed the beauty of the public gardens, all of which are very well maintained. We had a quick shower of rain at lunchtime but it soon cleared up so after a good lunch at Bella Italia, I spent some time in Imperial Gardens watching children and families playing near the statue of Gustav Holst, who died in 1934.

I then wandered back to the cricket ground by a different route, and after sitting in the car for about an hour, when it rained again, I was able to get in without paying because the lady in the car in front of ours in the car park gave me her ticket, although apparently, you are allowed in without paying after 5 p.m.

When Mr. HCB came to meet me, he treated me to an ice cream and then took me over to sit with his cricket buddies, who were all very friendly.  The best thing about today was that Mr. HCB’s team, Gloucester, having scored 242 for 8, then got Sussex Sharks all out for 191. 

All in all a very enjoyable day and I even got to spend sometime with Mr. HCB - no more cricket until 2nd August, so I now move up to being Number Two in his life for just a few days.

I have promised to make some of my special bread pudding so that he can take it to the game at the end of August - so I had better make a note in my diary!

“The bowler approached the wicket at a lope, 
     a trot, and then a run. 
He suddenly exploded in a flurry of arms and legs, 
     out of which flew a ball.” 
Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything


P.S.  Thank you for your lovely comments, starts and hearts for yesterday's photograph of the bride and groom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.