Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yakking

Had to go with this one for today's blip since I don't often catch a hummie in mid-yak.  This female was sitting in our serviceberry bush, chattering madly.  RT hummies don't sing, but they are extremely vocal and have a high pitched chatter that they generally use to ward off other hummies.  Second choice for today was another hummie in the pink phlox patch.  You'll probably be seeing some similar shots on blip since the phlox is now in full bloom.

In nestbox news...the baby blues are just a few days from fledging now.  They are quite large and appear to be fully feathered.  And, breaking news, the wren eggs have hatched!  I was unable to get my phone in the box to get a shot, but did see five little squiggly blobs when I peeked in using the mechanic's mirror.  Mama Wren was furiously scolding me from a nearby tree, so I didn't want to spend anymore time trying to see them.  

I haven't finished sorting my pictures from yesterday, but I'm happy to say that I managed to get some pretty good shots of at least some of the birds, and passable shots of others. And thank you to all who left stars, hearts and comments on my skimming skimmer yesterday!  Can't tell you how thrilled I was to finally get some good shots of those wonderful birds doing what they do.  

Off to make dinner - salmon and asparagus on the grill with a nice side salad and some French rose.  

Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.